The Hammett Award


Bouchercon 1999 ~ "Mischief in the Midwest" ~ Milwaukee, Wisconsin

  • Sale
  • Regular price $9.95

The Hammett Award: for a work of literary excellence in the field of crime writing by a US or Canadian author is presented, followed by a panel presentation. The nominees are as follows:

William Hoffman, Tidewater Blood (Algonquin)

Kevin McColley, Praying To A Laughing God (Simon & Schuster)

Robert Noah, The Man Who Stole the Mona Lisa (St. Martin's)

Domenic Stansberry, The Last Days of Il Duce (Permanent)

Daniel Woodrell, Tomato Red (Holt)

The winner will be chosen by three distinguished outside judges: Barbara Ehrenreich, author of Blood Rites: Origins and History of War, and frequent essayist for The Nation; Nina King, Editor of the Washington Post Book World; and publisher Anna Porter of Key Porter Books in Toronto. The winner will receive a bronze trophy, designed by sculptor Peter Boiger.